

RECORD OF DEFERRAL

NORTHERN REGIONAL PLANNING PANEL

DATE OF DEFERRAL	27 April 2023
PANEL MEMBERS	Dianne Leeson (Chair), Michael Wright, Stephen Gow, Simon Richardson and Ian Pickles
APOLOGIES	Joe Vescio
DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST	Ian Pickles noted for the record that over 35 years ago, as Chief Town Planner of Byron Shire Council, he was involved in the preparation of Byron Local Environment Plan 1988, which still applies to the site of this proposed development. The Panel considered this declaration and agreed that it does not preclude his involvement as a Panel member.

Public meeting held by videoconference on 18 April 2023, opened at 3.00pm and closed at 3.33pm.

MATTER DEFERRED

PPSNTH-134 – Byron – 10.2021.575.1 at 15 Torakina Rd, Brunswick Heads – subdivision (as described in Schedule 1).

REASONS FOR DEFERRAL

The panel agreed to defer the determination of the matter until additional information is provided by Council, being the finalised draft recommended conditions. The additional information is to be provided to the Panel by 03 May 2023.

When this information has been received, the panel will determine the matter electronically.

The decision to defer the matter was unanimous. The Panel adjourned during the meeting to deliberate on the matter and formulate a resolution.

PANEL MEMBERS		
Deeson	Bartenbur	
Dianne Leeson (Chair)	Stephen Gow	
Michael Wright	Simon Richards	
Ian Pickles		

	SCHEDULE 1			
1	1 PANEL REF – LGA – DA NO. PPSNTH-134 – Byron – 10.2021.575.1			
2	PROPOSED DEVELOPMENT	Staged subdivision to create One Hundred and Twenty Seven (127) Lots comprising of One Hundred and Twenty three (123) Residential Lots, Three (3) Medium Density Lots, and One (1) Public Reserve, together with associated vegetation management works (tree removal and compensatory planting), Earthworks and Construction of Infrastructure.		
3	STREET ADDRESS	15 Torakina Road, Brunswick Heads		
4	APPLICANT/OWNER	Newton Denny Chapelle		
5	TYPE OF REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT	Coastal subdivision		
6	RELEVANT MANDATORY CONSIDERATIONS	 Environmental planning instruments: State Environmental Planning Policy (Biodiversity and Conservation) 2021 State Environmental Planning Policy (Resilience and Hazards) 2021 State Environmental Planning Policy (Transport and Infrastructure) 2021 State Environmental Planning Policy (Planning Systems) 2021 State Environmental Planning Policy (Planning Systems) 2021 State Environmental Planning Policy (Planning Systems) 2021 Byron Local Environmental Plan 1988 Draft environmental planning instruments: Nil Development control plans: Byron Development Control Plan 2010 Planning agreements: Nil Provisions of the Environmental Planning and Assessment Regulation 2000 Coastal zone management plan: Nil The likely impacts of the development, including environmental impacts on the natural and built environment and social and economic impacts in the locality The suitability of the site for the development Any submissions made in accordance with the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979 or regulations The public interest, including the principles of ecologically sustainable dovelopment 		
7	MATERIAL CONSIDERED BY THE PANEL	 development Council Assessment Report: 6 April 2023 Written submissions during public exhibition: 13 Verbal submissions at the public meeting on 18 April 2023: Bruce Brown Council assessment officer – Shannon Burt, Renan Solatan, Chris Soulsby, Jeff Begovic and Jayne Klein (SMEC – Council's consultant) On behalf of the applicant – Damian Chapelle, Damian McCann, Wade Fletcher and James Fletcher 		
8	MEETINGS, BRIEFINGS AND SITE INSPECTIONS BY THE PANEL	 Briefing: 16 February 2022 <u>Panel members</u>: Paul Mitchell (Chair), Penny Holloway, Stephen Gow, David Brown and Joe Vescio <u>Council assessment staff</u>: Ivan Holland and Chris Larkin <u>Department staff</u>: Lisa Foley Site inspection: 21 February 2023 <u>Panel members</u>: Dianne Leeson (Chair), Michael Wright and Stephen Gow <u>Council assessment staff</u>: Chris Larkin and Renan Solatan 		

		 Final briefing to discuss council's recommendation: 18 April 2023 Panel members: Dianne Leeson (Chair), Michael Wright, Stephen Gow, Simon Richardson and Ian Pickles <u>Council assessment staff</u>: Shannon Burt, Renan Solatan, Chris Soulsby, Jeff Begovic and Jayne Klein (SMEC – Council's consultant) <u>Department staff</u>: Carolyn Hunt
9	COUNCIL RECOMMENDATION	Approval
10	DRAFT CONDITIONS	Attached to the Council Assessment Report